← KeenScout  ·  This is a free public teardown. Pro reports go deeper on your market. Order a report for your market →
Free public teardown
KeenScout · Public Teardown

AI Meeting Note-Takers, September 2026: Otter vs Fireflies vs Fathom vs tl;dv vs Granola vs Read.ai

Live pricing, free-tier limits, review complaints, funding, the built-in threat from Zoom, Google and Microsoft — and where a new entrant or a small competitor can still win.

Prepared forPublic readers — not a client report
Report date6 September 2026
Scope6 vendors · 3 platform built-ins · 4 analyses · 7 recommendations
Research windowLive pricing and review pages captured 5–6 Sept 2026; news coverage Sept 2024 – Sept 2026
Read this first. This is a free, public teardown published by KeenScout to show how we work. It is business research about what six vendors sell, charge and are criticised for; it is not legal advice on recording consent, and nothing here evaluates any tool's security. Every figure carries a footnote to the page we read. Where a figure could not be verified from a source we could actually open, we say “not disclosed” or “not retrievable” rather than guess. Pricing pages in this category change monthly — re-check before you quote them in a deck.

0Contents

  1. Executive summary — the 5 findings that matter
  2. Market context in one page
  3. Competitor profiles (6) + the built-ins
  4. Side-by-side comparison table
  5. Pricing map — $/seat/month
  6. Positioning map
  7. Gaps & whitespace
  8. SWOT — Otter, Fireflies, Fathom
  9. What we’d do — 7 recommendations
  10. Methodology & limits
  11. Sources

1Executive summary — the five findings that matter

  1. Free tiers have converged on “unlimited recording, rationed intelligence,” and the free plan is now a distribution engine rather than a product. Fathom gives “unlimited recordings + transcriptions” for $0;[3] Fireflies offers “unlimited transcription” but only “400 mins of storage/team” and “limited AI summaries”;[2] tl;dv records without limit but caps free users at 10 AI notes for the lifetime of the account;[4][5] Granola gives unlimited notes but hides anything older than 30 days;[8] Otter still meters minutes (300/month, 30 per conversation);[1] Read.ai allows 5 meetings a month.[7] The paywall has moved from “can I record?” to “can I keep, search and summarise it?”
  2. Paid entry prices cluster tightly at $8–$18 per seat on annual billing, but “Business” tiers spread 3× — from $19 (Fireflies, Otter) to $59 (tl;dv).[1][2][4] Price is not where the fight is. The fight is with the platforms: Zoom says core AI Companion features are “included with paid Zoom Workplace plans” at no extra charge,[30] Google Meet’s “Take notes for me” ships with “an eligible Google Workspace edition,”[29] and Microsoft bundles Teams meeting recaps into a $30/user Copilot add-on.[31] A standalone note-taker now has to justify a second line item against a $0 built-in.
  3. The bot is the category’s biggest liability, and “bot-free” is the fastest-growing position. Read.ai’s Trustpilot profile sits at 1.3/5 with 89% one-star reviews, dominated by “joined, uninvited!”;[26] Fireflies reviewers on G2 call auto-join “pretty aggressive by default”;[18] Fathom users say the bot “can throw off clients”;[19] universities have blocked Read AI outright;[27] and Otter is defending a consolidated class action over OtterPilot recording without participant consent, with a motion to dismiss argued in May 2026 and still pending.[28] Meanwhile Granola — “without a meeting bot” — raised $125M at $1.5B in March 2026,[8][9] and Fathom’s homepage now leads with “Now available bot-free.”[37]
  4. Capital efficiency is the norm here, not the exception — a new entrant cannot out-burn the incumbents. Otter reports $100M ARR with fewer than 200 employees;[10] Fireflies reached a $1B valuation via a tender offer, “profitable since 2023,” with no primary capital raised since 2021;[11] tl;dv claims eight-figure ARR and 20–30% margins on a single €4.3M seed round;[15] Fathom raised $21.7M total and reported 90× revenue growth in two years;[13] Read AI says it grew to 100,000 new accounts a week “spending zero dollars on marketing.”[14] Only Granola is playing the venture-scale game.[9]
  5. Accuracy complaints are identical across every vendor and nobody has solved them for a niche. Accents, crosstalk, background noise, speaker mislabelling and industry jargon appear in the top complaints for Otter,[17] Fireflies,[18][23] Fathom,[19] tl;dv[20] and Granola.[21] All six are horizontal. The open lane for a small competitor is a vertical note-taker (legal, clinical, construction, financial advice, non-English-first markets) that wins on the vocabulary, the output format and the compliance posture the generalists treat as an edge case.

2Market context in one page

Scale. The vendors’ own numbers, taken at face value: Otter claims 35M+ users and 1B+ cumulative meetings processed;[10] Fireflies claims 20M+ users across 1M+ organisations;[12] Fathom says it is “used at 300K+ companies”;[37] tl;dv claims 2M+ users and 21,000+ customers;[15][38] Read AI says “millions.”[39] None of these are audited and “user” definitions differ (a free sign-up counts). We found no independent third-party sizing of the standalone note-taker market we were willing to cite.

Where the money is. Two disclosed revenue anchors: Otter’s $100M ARR (reached March 2025)[10] and tl;dv’s “eight figures.”[15] Fireflies and Fathom revenue: not disclosed (third-party estimators publish figures; we did not use them). Granola revenue: not disclosed in its Series C coverage.[9]

The strategic shift. Every vendor is trying to leave the “note-taker” label behind. Otter launched Meeting, Sales and SDR “agents” in 2025;[10] Fireflies launched an AI Sales Suite in July 2026 pitched at “a fraction of what legacy platforms charge”;[12] Granola’s round was explicitly about becoming an “enterprise AI app” with Spaces and APIs;[9] Read AI ships an executive-assistant agent (“Ada”) and an MCP server;[16] tl;dv sells “Sales Playbook Monitoring and AI Coaching” on its $59 tier.[5] The common move is from capturing meetings to being the memory layer other AI tools query — Otter, Fathom, Granola and Read all now advertise Claude/ChatGPT or MCP connections.[40][37][9][16]

Regulatory and trust backdrop. Four class actions against Otter were consolidated in the Northern District of California in October 2025, alleging OtterPilot records without consent and uses audio to train models; the court has not yet ruled on dismissal.[28] IT administrators at universities describe bot proliferation as “out of control,” and several institutions have blocked Read AI.[27] Whatever the legal outcome, consent UX is now a buying criterion.

3Competitor profiles

Prices are from each vendor’s own pricing page captured 5–6 Sept 2026 unless noted. “Annual” means the per-month price when billed yearly. Review data is from the platform named; Capterra returned no listing or a 404 for several products (see Methodology).

3.1 Otter.ai Largest by ARRBot + agents

Tiers & prices
Basic free; Pro $16.99/user/month or $8.33 annual (“51% savings”); Business $30/user/month or $19.99 annual; Enterprise custom.[1]
Free-tier limits
“300 monthly transcription minutes,” 30 minutes per conversation, “3 lifetime audio/video file imports.” Pro raises this to 1,200 minutes/month and 90 minutes/meeting; Business is unlimited with 4-hour meetings and 3 concurrent meeting joins.[1]
Positioning
“Your AI notetaker is now also your Conversational Knowledge Engine.” Five named agents (Sales, Education, Media, SDR, Recruiting); claims users save 4+ hours a week.[40] 2025 launches: Meeting Agent, Sales Agent, autonomous SDR Agent; HIPAA (July 2025); public API and MCP server (Oct 2025).[10]
Integrations
Zoom, Google Meet, Teams; Slack, Salesforce, HubSpot, Jira, Notion, Google Workspace, Asana, Claude; Zapier on Pro and up; SSO/SCIM, HIPAA add-on and API on Enterprise.[40][1] Mac, Windows, iOS, Android, Chrome.[40]
Reviews
G2: 4.4/5, 504 reviews.[17] Trustpilot: 3.7/5, 635 reviews, 32% one-star.[25] Capterra: not retrievable (404).
Marketing
Product-led: every shared transcript and every bot in a meeting is an ad. Heavy press-release cadence (BusinessWire year-end release with ROI claims).[10] Otter is the reference competitor in rivals’ SEO content — tl;dv maintains an “Otter.ai Pricing” explainer updated July 2026.[41]
Recent news
$100M ARR (March 2025); 35M+ users; “fewer than 200 employees”; agents launched through 2025.[10] Consolidated privacy class action (In re Otter.AI Privacy Litigation, N.D. Cal.), lead case filed 15 Aug 2025; motion to dismiss heard 20 May 2026, ruling pending.[28][42] Funding since 2025: none found. Layoffs: none found.

Most common complaints (near-verbatim)

“Transcription accuracy drops when there is background noise, overlapping conversations, or strong accents.” — G2[17]

“Struggle to distinguish between voices. It might mislabel speakers or treat one person as two.” — G2[17]

“Unexpected subscription renewals and difficulties with canceling accounts.” — Trustpilot summary[25]

“It operates almost exclusively in English.” — G2[17]

“Support was entirely unresponsive when critical technical problems suddenly arose.” — Trustpilot[25]

Read: Otter is the scale leader with the weakest trust profile: a 32% one-star share on Trustpilot, billing and cancellation grievances, and a live lawsuit about the very behaviour (auto-joining) that drives its growth. Its per-minute free tier is now the stingiest in the set.

3.2 Fireflies.ai Profitable unicornBot · sales-leaning

Tiers & prices
Free $0; Pro $18/seat/month or $10 annual; Business $29/seat/month or $19 annual (“Most Popular”); Enterprise $39/seat/month, annual only.[2]
Free-tier limits
“Unlimited transcription” but “400 mins of storage/team,” “limited AI summaries,” 20 AI credits. Pro: 8,000 minutes storage per seat, unlimited summaries. Business: unlimited storage, 30 credits. Enterprise: 50 credits, SSO/SCIM, HIPAA, private storage.[2]
Positioning
“AI Teammate” framing; AskFred assistant; “Talk to Fireflies” voice companion (“Hey Fireflies”) available to free users;[11] July 2026 AI Sales Suite (Deal Intelligence, CRM Autofill, AI Scorecards, Meeting Prep, Sales Assist) pitched at 22,000 sales teams.[12]
Integrations
“100+ apps” across 12 categories: HubSpot, Salesforce, Affinity, Wealthbox, Redtail (CRM); Zoom, Meet, Teams, Webex, GoToMeeting, Dialpad (video/dialer); Notion, Google Docs, OneNote, Linear, Airtable, Slack, Confluence, Dropbox, Drive, Box.[32] API access is on the free plan.[2]
Reviews
G2: 4.7/5, 753 reviews.[18] Capterra: 4.9/5, 735 reviews.[23]
Marketing
Comparison-page SEO against every rival (e.g., its own “Fathom AI Notetaker Review + Top Alternatives” page);[43] press releases via Yahoo Finance/PR wires; the bot itself as viral loop; the “profitable AI company” narrative as founder PR.[11][12]
Recent news
$1B valuation via first tender offer (12 June 2025); “profitable since 2023” with “triple-digit year-over-year growth”; no primary capital since 2021.[11] AI Sales Suite launched 21 July 2026.[12] Revenue: not disclosed. Layoffs: none found.

Most common complaints (near-verbatim)

“Sometimes the transcriptions are totally wrong and change the correct meaning of the things discussed.” — G2[18]

“The bot’s auto-join behavior can feel pretty aggressive by default… it may end up joining private 1-on-1s meetings uninvited.” — G2[18]

“The pricing is on the higher side, and there are some limitations that can affect access.” — G2[18]

“Customer service (chat bot and email only, no phone number) with concerns about deceptive business practices.” — Capterra summary[23]

“The transcription for certain languages is still pretty bad.” — G2[18]

Read: Fireflies has the best-rated product of the bot-based trio and the most credible economics, but its free tier is a storage trap (400 minutes for the whole team) and its growth loop depends on the same auto-join behaviour that reviewers and IT teams resent.

3.3 Fathom Free-forever leaderBot or bot-free

Tiers & prices
Individual: Free $0; Premium $20/user/month or $16 annual. Team: Team $19/user/month or $15 annual (2-user minimum); Business $34/user/month or $25 annual (2-user minimum); Enterprise custom.[3]
Free-tier limits
“Unlimited recordings + transcriptions,” instant AI summaries, clips, playlists and search. Premium adds advanced summaries, AI action items, a conversational assistant and a custom meeting bot.[3] Referral mechanics: referees get a 60-day Premium trial, referrers 30 extra Premium days plus points.[35]
Positioning
“Never Take Notes Again”; “Now available bot-free”; “Used at 300K+ companies”; “38-minutes per meeting on average” saved; SOC 2 Type II, GDPR, HIPAA, SSO/SCIM badges.[37] Business tier adds CRM field sync, Deal View, coaching metrics and AI scorecards.[3]
Integrations
Zoom, Meet, Teams; Salesforce, HubSpot; Slack, Asana, Notion; Zapier, Make; ChatGPT, Claude; public API and MCP — “20+ other tools.”[33][37] HubSpot integration cited at 8,500+ companies at the time of the Series A.[13]
Reviews
G2: 5.0/5, 7,018 reviews — roughly 9× Fireflies’ count and 14× Otter’s.[19] Capterra: not retrievable.
Marketing
The G2 review count is itself the channel: Fathom’s points programme rewards referrals and “engaging with the product,” with a path to commissioned Solution Partner status; Qualified Portfolio Partners gives VC/accelerator portfolios discounted pricing.[34] $2M of the Series A came from a Wefunder crowdfund — customers as investors.[13]
Recent news
$17M Series A led by Telescope Partners (19 Sept 2024); $21.7M raised in total; revenue up 90× and usage 20× over two years; CEO: “we’re going to really focus on the things that we think are hard, which is getting distribution.”[13] Funding since: none found. Revenue: not disclosed.

Most common complaints (near-verbatim)

“Sometimes the transcript isn’t completely accurate, especially when people talk over each other or the audio isn’t clear.” — G2[19]

“The AI summary might misinterpret technical jargon or niche industry terms, requiring a quick manual edit.” — G2[19]

“Fathom shows as on video in Teams, takes a lot of space and looks like I am on the call from 2 devices.” — G2[19]

“Having the bot physically join the call as a ‘participant’ can throw off clients or people who aren’t used to it.” — G2[19]

“Limitations in free version.” — G2 summary[19]

Read: Fathom has turned reviews into a moat — a 5.0 on 7,000+ G2 reviews is very hard to argue with on a shortlist. Its unlimited free tier sets the price of “recording” at zero for the whole category, which is why everyone else now charges for memory and analysis instead.

3.4 tl;dv EU-hosted challengerBot · sales coaching

Tiers & prices
Free $0; Pro $29/user/month or $18 annual; Business $98/user/month or $59 annual; Enterprise custom (“20+ users”). A third-party pricing guide notes tl;dv “is currently running 40% off all annual plans, still active in 2026,” which explains the unusually wide monthly/annual gap.[4][5] Caveat: tldv.io/pricing returned 404 to our fetcher on both attempts; figures are from G2’s pricing listing and an Aug 2026 third-party guide and should be re-confirmed manually.
Free-tier limits
“Unlimited recordings and transcripts in 30+ languages,” but: 10 AI meeting notes, 10 “Ask tl;dv” queries and 10 multi-meeting reports for the account’s lifetime; 3 uploads a month; recordings auto-deleted after 3 months; 40 recordings per week.[5][4] Business is capped at 120 recordings/week and 3-hour meetings.[4]
Positioning
“The AI Notetaker built for Team Collaboration”; 2M+ users; “6000+ tools”; 30+ languages; SOC 2, GDPR, EU-hosted data, EU AI Act compliance; explicitly framed against Gong’s “$5,000+ upfront investment.”[38] Business tier sells “Sales Playbook Monitoring and AI Coaching.”[5]
Integrations
“6000+” (via Zapier-style connectors); free plan restricted to “Slack, email, calendar only.”[38][4]
Reviews
G2: 4.7/5, 537 reviews.[20] Capterra: listing exists with 0 reviews and shows Pro at $20/user/month — stale.[24]
Marketing
Aggressive SEO content farm: rival pricing explainers (“Otter.ai Pricing: Is It Really Worth It?”), how-to guides for Gemini in Meet, “top European AI startups” self-features.[41][44][15] Public Anthropic-customer positioning (“built on Anthropic’s Claude”).[15] Sifted 250 ranking used as credential.[15]
Recent news
Company blog (29 Apr 2026): total funding €4.3M (one seed round, June 2022); “eight figures” ARR; 20–30% margins; ~60 fully remote staff; Aachen, Germany; #3 in Sifted 250 2025.[15] These are self-reported. New funding, layoffs or M&A in 2025–26: none found.

Most common complaints (near-verbatim)

“The recording limitations of tl;dv inconvenient, requiring extra steps for capturing meetings effectively.” — G2 summary[20]

“AI inaccuracy issues, with misinterpretations and inconsistent speaker differentiation necessitating manual fixes.” — G2 summary[20]

“The pricing feels a bit steep, making it a rather expensive investment for what it offers.” — G2[20]

“The Ukrainian transcripts are not perfect and could be better.” — G2[20]

“You only get 10 AI-powered summaries for the entire lifetime of your account.” — third-party pricing guide on the free plan[4]

Read: tl;dv’s $59 Business tier is the most expensive self-serve price in the set and its free plan is the most restrictive on intelligence. Its real differentiation is EU data residency and a content machine — useful for a small competitor to study, expensive to copy.

3.5 Granola Bot-free · $1.5BProsumer → enterprise

Tiers & prices
Basic $0; Business $14/user/month; Enterprise $35/user/month. Annual pricing: not disclosed on the pricing page.[6] A June 2026 third-party guide reports Granola “restructured pricing in 2026,” dropping a former $18 Pro plan.[36]
Free-tier limits
Homepage: “Unlimited meeting notes for free,” but notes older than 30 days require an upgrade;[8] pricing page says “limited meeting history.”[6] A third-party guide describes the cap as 25 notes of history; we could not confirm the exact number on Granola’s own pages.[36]
Positioning
“The AI notepad for back-to-back meetings. Notes, actions and memory. Without a meeting bot.” Uses computer audio; macOS, Windows, iOS, Android. Testimonials from Linear, Vercel and Menlo Ventures founders; logos: PostHog, Intercom, Figma, Brex, Asana.[8]
Integrations
Business: Attio, Notion, Slack, HubSpot, Affinity, Zapier, MCP and API. Enterprise: SSO, org-wide auto-deletion, admin controls, org-wide model-training opt-out.[6] March 2026: Spaces (team workspaces), personal and enterprise APIs, updated MCP server, connections to Claude, ChatGPT, Lovable, Figma Make.[9]
Reviews
G2: 4.7/5, but only 36 reviews.[21] Capterra: not retrievable. The gap between a $1.5B valuation and 36 G2 reviews is the clearest signal in this report that Granola’s buyers are not shopping on review sites.
Marketing
Founder/VC word-of-mouth (the homepage is a wall of tech-CEO quotes), not comparison SEO or partner programmes.[8] Zoom lists Granola by name in its own “vs other AI tools” page at $14/$35 — being named by the platform is free distribution.[30]
Recent news
$125M Series C at $1.5B, led by Index Ventures with Kleiner Perkins (25 Mar 2026); $192M raised to date; up from a $250M valuation at the $43M Series B (May 2025). Article also notes Granola shipped APIs in response to user complaints about a locked-down local database.[9] Revenue and user count: not disclosed.

Most common complaints (near-verbatim)

“It doesn’t record audio or video — it only transcribes device output, which means I can’t replay parts of a meeting if something was misheard.” — G2[21]

“Speaker identification can be hit-or-miss, which makes it harder to track who said what in larger meetings.” — G2[21]

“The accuracy of transcripts, specifically names, is something that needs work.” — G2[21]

“Integration issues with Granola limit its functionality compared to more seamless competitors.” — G2 summary[21]

“I wish Granola let me connect multiple calendars, since I have both personal and business calls.” — G2[21]

Read: Granola’s bot-free design removes the consent problem but creates a new one — no recording to check against, and no way to tell who said what — that reviewers already notice. The company is spending its round on turning a beloved personal tool into something IT can administer.

3.6 Read.ai Trust deficitBot · “copilot everywhere”

Tiers & prices
Free $0; Pro $19.75/user/month or $15 annual; Enterprise $29.75/user/month or $22.50 annual; Enterprise+ $39.75/user/month or $29.75 annual (5+ licences).[7]
Free-tier limits
5 meetings per month with transcripts, summaries, meeting coach, basic integrations, 20+ languages. Pro: unlimited transcripts, 100 upload credits/month, premium integrations. Enterprise adds audio/video playback and highlights; Enterprise+ adds HIPAA, SAML/SCIM, domain capture, custom retention.[7]
Positioning
“Your AI Meeting Agent”; “copilot — transforming meetings, emails, and messages into summaries, insights, and instant answers on every device.” Digital-twin assistant Ada; SOC 2 Type 2, GDPR, HIPAA; “No training on your data by default.”[39]
Integrations
Meet, Zoom, Teams, Gmail, Outlook, Slack, Salesforce, HubSpot, Asana, Notion, “20+ additional platforms,” APIs and webhooks.[39] March 2026: MCP connections to ChatGPT and Claude (open beta), full-history Slack search, Notion/Confluence auto-save.[16]
Reviews
G2: 4.0/5, 43 reviews.[22] Trustpilot: 1.3/5, 107 reviews, 89% one-star — the worst trust score in the category by a wide margin.[26] Capterra: not retrievable (404).
Marketing
“Spending zero dollars on marketing” and adding ~100,000 accounts a week at the Series B, per GeekWire — growth driven by the bot appearing in other people’s meetings and by broad permission scopes.[14] Monthly “Read It!” product newsletters; SEO explainers on Google Meet notes.[16][45] Read AI publishes a help article titled “How to Stop Read AI from Joining My Meetings,” which is a marketing artefact in its own right.[46]
Recent news
$50M Series B led by Smash Capital with Goodwater and Madrona (28 Oct 2024); $81M total; ~40 employees, planning to double.[14] 2025–26 funding: none found. Ada assistant and MCP server (March 2026).[16] Institutions blocking Read AI include California Institute of the Arts and the University of Memphis (campus-wide warning).[27] Layoffs: none found. Revenue: not disclosed.

Most common complaints (near-verbatim)

“Two more meetings today where Read.ai joined, uninvited!” — Trustpilot[26]

“It still inserts itself into all future online meetings. There is literally no way to get rid of it.” — Trustpilot[26]

“Requests far too many permissions — reads your private emails, teams chat messages, files, everything.” — Trustpilot[26]

“Difficulty in removing the application from meetings.” — G2 summary[22]

“Read AI to be expensive, particularly when scaling for multiple users and needing premium features.” — G2 summary[22]

Read: Read AI is the cautionary tale: a growth loop so aggressive that the product’s own removal instructions rank as content, an IT-blocklist presence, and a Trustpilot score that any competitor can screenshot. The features (email + chat + meeting search, Ada) are genuinely broad; the brand is the problem.

3.7 The platform threat — Zoom AI Companion, Google Meet Gemini notes, Microsoft 365 Copilot Free or bundled

Zoom AI Companion
Zoom’s own comparison page: “Core AI features — meeting summaries, chat compose, email drafting, and more — are built directly into Zoom Workplace. No separate vendor, no extra toggle. They’re included with paid Zoom Workplace plans.” The premium tier, ZoomMate, starts at $20/user/month. The same page benchmarks Otter at “$8.33 or $19.99,” Fathom at “$16, $15, or $25,” and Granola at “$14 or $35.”[30]
Google Meet
“Take notes for me” requires “an eligible Google Workspace edition or Google AI plan”; supports English, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese and Spanish, “one language at a time.”[29] Zoom cites Google Gemini at “$14/user/month for Workspace Business Standard.”[30] Google announced in-person “Take notes for me” at its April 2026 event.[47]
Microsoft 365 Copilot
$30/user/month add-on on top of a qualifying M365 licence (E3, E5, Business Standard/Premium); includes “Copilot in Teams (meeting summaries, action items, chat summaries).”[31] Zoom’s page cites the same $30.[30]
What this means
For a Zoom-paying SMB, “good enough” meeting summaries now cost $0 incremental. For Microsoft shops, the platform option is more expensive than every standalone Business tier except tl;dv’s. Google sits in between and is limited to eight languages, one per meeting. The built-ins are single-platform; the standalones’ enduring argument is cross-platform capture (Zoom + Meet + Teams + phone + in-person) in one searchable archive.

Read: The platform threat is real for the low end of every standalone’s customer base and almost irrelevant for the mixed-platform, CRM-connected team. Vendors that survive will be the ones selling memory, search and workflow across platforms, not summaries of a single Zoom call.

4Side-by-side comparison

VendorCapture methodFree tier (the real limit)Entry paid (annual)Business tier (annual)Top self-serveReviews (best verified)Trust flagMomentum
Otter.aiBot (OtterPilot) + app/mobile300 min/month, 30 min/meeting, 3 lifetime imports[1]$8.33 Pro$19.99Enterprise customG2 4.4★ / 504; Trustpilot 3.7★ / 635[17][25]Class action pending[28]$100M ARR; agents[10]
Fireflies.aiBot (“Fred”) + apps + extensionUnlimited transcription; 400 min storage/team; limited summaries[2]$10 Pro$19$39 EnterpriseG2 4.7★ / 753; Capterra 4.9★ / 735[18][23]“Aggressive” auto-join[18]$1B tender; profitable; Sales Suite[11][12]
FathomBot or bot-free (desktop)Unlimited recordings + transcripts + basic summaries[3]$15 Team / $16 Premium$25Enterprise customG2 5.0★ / 7,018[19]Bot “throws off clients”[19]$17M Series A 2024; 90× rev in 2 yrs[13]
tl;dvBot + desktopUnlimited recordings; 10 AI notes lifetime; 3-month deletion[4][5]$18 Pro$59$59G2 4.7★ / 537[20]“Pricing feels a bit steep”[20]8-figure ARR on €4.3M raised (self-reported)[15]
GranolaBot-free (device audio)Unlimited notes; history >30 days locked[8]$14 Business (monthly)$14$35 EnterpriseG2 4.7★ / 36[21]No recording to replay[21]$125M at $1.5B (Mar 2026)[9]
Read.aiBot + Gmail/Slack/Teams copilot5 meetings/month[7]$15 Pro$22.50 Enterprise$29.75 Enterprise+G2 4.0★ / 43; Trustpilot 1.3★ / 107[22][26]89% one-star; campus blocks[26][27]$50M Series B 2024; Ada + MCP[14][16]
Zoom AI CompanionNativeIncluded with paid Zoom Workplace[30]$0 incrementalZoomMate from $20n/aZoom-onlyNames rivals’ prices on its site[30]
Google Meet GeminiNative“Eligible Workspace edition”; 8 languages, one per meeting[29]Bundledn/aMeet-onlyIn-person notes (Apr 2026)[47]
Microsoft 365 CopilotNativeNone (paid add-on)[31]$30 add-on$30$30n/aTeams-only; base licence required

All prices per user/seat per month, in USD, as displayed on the vendor page on the capture date. Granola shows monthly prices only. tl;dv figures are from G2 and a third-party guide because the vendor’s pricing page did not load; see Methodology.

5Pricing map — $ per seat per month (annual billing where offered)

tl;dv Business
$59.00
Fireflies Enterprise
$39.00
Granola Enterprise (monthly)
$35.00
Microsoft 365 Copilot add-on
$30.00
Read.ai Enterprise+
$29.75
Fathom Business
$25.00
Read.ai Enterprise
$22.50
Otter Business
$19.99
ZoomMate (Zoom premium AI)
$20.00
Fireflies Business
$19.00
tl;dv Pro
$18.00
Fathom Premium (individual)
$16.00
Fathom Team
$15.00
Read.ai Pro
$15.00
Granola Business (monthly)
$14.00
Fireflies Pro
$10.00
Otter Pro
$8.33
Zoom AI Companion (paid plan)
$0.00
Bar length proportional to price; navy = business/enterprise tiers, teal = entry paid tiers, light = platform built-ins. Sources: [1]–[7], [30], [31].

What the map says. Three bands. $8–$18 is the individual/prosumer band where six products fight over a few dollars and where Zoom’s $0 built-in sits underneath all of them. $19–$25 is the “team” band — Otter, Fireflies, Fathom and Read all land here within $6 of each other, which tells you the market has already found the SMB clearing price for cross-platform capture plus CRM sync. Above $29 you are selling something else: coaching and playbooks (tl;dv $59), compliance and admin (Read $29.75, Granola $35, Fireflies $39), or the Microsoft bundle. A new entrant has almost no room to undercut in band one (Fathom is free) and no reason to fight in band two; the defensible pricing question is what specific job justifies $29–$59 for a specific kind of team.

6Positioning map

Horizontal axis: who the product is sold to (individual knowledge worker → revenue team / IT-administered org). Vertical axis: how the product captures audio (a visible bot participant → invisible/ambient capture with no bot). Dot placement is KeenScout’s qualitative judgement from marketing copy and pricing-page emphasis, not a survey.

Bot-free / ambient capture Visible bot participant ← Individual / prosumer Revenue team / IT-administered →
Granola
Fathom
Zoom / Meet / Teams built-ins
Otter
Fireflies
tl;dv
Read.ai
Open: bot-free for SMB teams
Open: vertical specialist

Two open cells. (a) Bot-free capture for an administered SMB team — Granola is moving there with its Series C but is still prosumer-first, Fathom offers bot-free mode but leads with the bot in its review complaints, and the built-ins are single-platform. (b) A vertical specialist — every dot on this map is horizontal; nobody is the note-taker for a specific profession’s vocabulary, output templates and compliance requirements. The bottom-right (bot + revenue team) is the crowded cell and also the one most exposed to the Otter litigation outcome.[28]

7Gaps & whitespace

  1. Consent as a feature, not a footnote. The Otter complaint alleges the bot joins, records, voiceprints and trains without participant consent; Otter’s defence is that a visible bot is notice enough and that account-holders bear responsibility.[28] No vendor we reviewed markets a first-class consent flow (per-participant opt-in, automatic pause on objection, jurisdiction-aware prompts). Whichever way the court rules, that is a sellable differentiator to any regulated buyer.
  2. The replay gap in bot-free tools. Granola reviewers’ top complaint is that there is no audio to check against and speaker attribution is “hit-or-miss.”[21] A bot-free product that keeps a local, encrypted, auto-expiring audio buffer for verification (and nothing else) would answer the objection without reintroducing the bot.
  3. Vertical vocabulary. “Technical jargon or niche industry terms”[19] and “specialized industry terminology”[17] are top-five complaints for the two best-rated products. The generalists solve this with custom vocabulary lists on paid tiers (Otter Pro’s “team vocabulary”).[1] A specialist can ship the vocabulary, the summary template and the export format for one profession on day one.
  4. Non-English-first markets. Google Meet supports eight languages, one per meeting;[29] Otter is criticised as “almost exclusively” English;[17] Fireflies and tl;dv reviewers flag specific languages as “still pretty bad” / “not perfect.”[18][20] Multilingual-in-the-same-meeting is a real gap for EU, LatAm, India and APAC teams, and tl;dv’s EU-hosting pitch shows regional trust sells.[38]
  5. Honest free tiers. The category’s free plans are full of lifetime caps and 30-day/3-month deletion clauses that generate the “limitations in free version” and “10 summaries for the entire lifetime” grievances.[19][4] A free plan whose single limit is easy to say in one sentence (e.g., “10 meetings a month, kept forever”) is a positioning statement in itself.
  6. Billing transparency. “Unexpected subscription renewals and difficulties with canceling”[25] and “concerns about deceptive business practices”[23] appear in review summaries for the two biggest vendors. Monthly-by-default billing, one-click cancel and prorated refunds cost margin and buy a Trustpilot score.
  7. In-person and phone. Google just announced in-person “Take notes for me”;[47] the standalones are still overwhelmingly video-call products. Field sales, healthcare, trades and legal intake happen in rooms and on phones. That is an under-served capture surface where the bot model cannot follow.

8SWOT — top three competitors

Otter.ai

Strengths
  • $100M ARR, 35M+ users, <200 staff — scale and efficiency.[10]
  • Cheapest paid entry point ($8.33 annual).[1]
  • Agent portfolio (Sales, SDR, Recruiting) and HIPAA, API, MCP.[10][40]
  • Brand is the category’s default search term (rivals write “Otter pricing” content).[41]
Weaknesses
  • Trustpilot 3.7★ with 32% one-star; billing/cancellation complaints.[25]
  • Metered free tier (300 min) vs rivals’ unlimited.[1]
  • “Almost exclusively” English per reviewers; speaker-ID errors.[17]
  • Lowest G2 rating of the six (4.4).[17]
Opportunities
  • Enterprise suite and agents move ACV up-market.[10]
  • Education and Media agents are verticals nobody else names.[40]
Threats
  • Pending consolidated class action over auto-join recording and model training.[28]
  • Zoom’s $0 built-in targets exactly Otter’s prosumer base.[30]
  • Fathom’s free-forever plus 7,000 five-star reviews on the shortlist.[19]

Fireflies.ai

Strengths
  • Profitable since 2023; $1B valuation without new primary capital.[11]
  • Highest combined review scores (G2 4.7/753; Capterra 4.9/735).[18][23]
  • 100+ integrations incl. niche CRMs (Wealthbox, Redtail) — a quiet vertical play in financial advice.[32]
  • API on free tier; Business at $19 undercuts Fathom Business.[2][3]
Weaknesses
  • Free tier storage (400 min/team) is a bait-and-switch in reviewers’ eyes.[2][23]
  • “Aggressive” default auto-join; support by chatbot/email only.[18][23]
  • Revenue undisclosed; “20M users” includes free.[12]
Opportunities
  • AI Sales Suite as a Gong/Chorus substitute for the 22,000 sales teams already on the platform.[12]
  • Voice companion (“Hey Fireflies”) as an in-meeting agent surface.[11]
Threats
  • Any adverse Otter ruling applies to identical bot behaviour.[28]
  • Bot-free shift (Granola, Fathom) reframes the visible bot as legacy.[8][37]
  • Microsoft Copilot in Teams-first enterprises.[31]

Fathom

Strengths
  • 5.0★ on 7,018 G2 reviews — the strongest social proof in the category.[19]
  • Unlimited free recording sets the market’s floor.[3]
  • Bot-free option plus bot, so it can sell to both camps.[37]
  • Referral, points, partner and VC-portfolio programmes as a distribution machine.[34][35]
Weaknesses
  • Only ~25 named integrations vs Fireflies’ 100+.[33][32]
  • 2-user minimum on team plans; Business at $25 is above Otter/Fireflies.[3]
  • Bot appears “on video” in Teams and “throws off clients.”[19]
  • Modest capital ($21.7M) if a price war starts.[13]
Opportunities
  • Convert the free base to Team/Business via CRM sync and coaching.[3]
  • Named by Zoom as a benchmark — platform-level awareness.[30]
Threats
  • Free-forever is easy for a platform to match at $0 (Zoom already does).[30]
  • Review-incentive programmes can draw scrutiny from review platforms.
  • Granola’s $125M war chest aimed at the same design-forward buyer.[9]

9What we’d do — seven recommendations for a new entrant or small competitor

  1. Pick a vertical and own its vocabulary before you own a feature. Jargon and niche-term errors are top-five complaints for the best-rated products.[17][19] Choose one profession where meetings have a repeatable structure and a required output (intake notes, case notes, site reports, suitability letters), ship its glossary and its template, and price at $29–$39/seat — the band where the horizontals are selling coaching and compliance, not notes.[4][7]
  2. Go bot-free by default, but solve the replay problem the bot-free leader hasn’t. Capture device audio like Granola, then keep an encrypted, auto-expiring local buffer so users can check “what did she actually say?” — Granola’s number-one G2 complaint.[21] That removes the “uninvited participant” failure mode that is generating 89% one-star reviews for Read.ai[26] and the exposure at issue in the Otter case.[28]
  3. Make consent a visible product feature. Build participant-facing notice, per-meeting opt-in and jurisdiction-aware prompts, and put them on the homepage. No vendor we reviewed markets this; every regulated buyer’s counsel will ask for it. (Recording-consent law varies by state and country — this is a product recommendation, not legal advice.)
  4. Write a one-sentence free tier and never add a lifetime cap. The category’s free plans are riddled with “10 notes for life,” “400 minutes per team,” “deleted after 3 months.”[4][2] Something like “10 meetings a month, kept forever, full features” is simpler than anything on the market and costs little if your paid tier is priced on team workflow rather than volume.
  5. Don’t compete on the $8–$18 shelf; ignore it. Otter is at $8.33, Fireflies at $10, Zoom at $0.[1][2][30] A small competitor cannot win a price war against a profitable unicorn and a platform. Sell a two-tier ladder: free, then one paid plan with everything, at the vertical price in recommendation 1.
  6. Borrow Fathom’s distribution playbook, not its product. Its 7,018 G2 reviews come from a points/referral programme where referees get 60 days of Premium and referrers get 30,[35] plus partner tiers for agencies and VC portfolios.[34] For a vertical product, the equivalent is the profession’s associations, practice-management vendors and the niche CRMs — Fireflies already integrates Wealthbox and Redtail for financial advisers,[32] so pick a vertical where it hasn’t.
  7. Be the memory layer for whatever AI the customer already uses. Otter, Fathom, Granola and Read all now ship MCP servers or Claude/ChatGPT connections;[10][37][9][16] Read reports MCP usage “doubled week-over-week at launch.”[16] Ship an MCP server and a documented API on day one so your vertical notes can be queried from the customer’s assistant; the switching cost you build is the archive, not the recorder.
First 90 days, sequenced: (1) choose the vertical and interview 20 practitioners about the output they must produce after a meeting; (2) ship bot-free capture on Mac/Windows with the replay buffer; (3) publish the consent flow and the one-sentence free tier; (4) list on G2 and Capterra with a referral loop from week one — three of six incumbents are missing or stale on Capterra;[24] (5) launch the MCP server and one practice-management integration before the first paid campaign.

10Methodology & limits

11Sources

  1. Otter.ai — Pricing (Basic/Pro/Business/Enterprise; minute limits; annual discounts). https://otter.ai/pricing
  2. Fireflies.ai — Pricing (Free/Pro/Business/Enterprise; storage and AI-credit limits). https://fireflies.ai/pricing
  3. Fathom — Pricing (Free/Premium/Team/Business/Enterprise; 2-user minimum). https://www.fathom.ai/pricing
  4. Claap — “tl;dv Pricing 2026: Costs, Plans & Hidden Limits” (20 Aug 2026; Pro $29/$18, Business $98/$59; free-plan lifetime caps and deletion policy; 40% annual promo). https://www.claap.io/blog/tl-dv-pricing
  5. G2 — tl;dv Pricing listing (Free caps of 10 AI notes/asks/reports, 3 uploads; Pro $18; Business $59). https://www.g2.com/products/tl-dv/pricing
  6. Granola — Pricing (Basic $0; Business $14; Enterprise $35; integrations per tier). https://www.granola.ai/pricing
  7. Read AI — Pricing (Free 5 meetings/month; Pro $19.75/$15; Enterprise $29.75/$22.50; Enterprise+ $39.75/$29.75). https://www.read.ai/pricing
  8. Granola — Homepage (tagline; “without a meeting bot”; platforms; 30-day free history; testimonials and logos). https://www.granola.ai/
  9. TechCrunch — “Granola raises $125M, hits $1.5B valuation as it expands from meeting notetaker to enterprise AI app” (25 Mar 2026; Index, Kleiner Perkins; $192M total; Series B $43M at $250M; Spaces, APIs, MCP). https://techcrunch.com/2026/03/25/granola-raises-125m-hits-1-5b-valuation-as-it-expands-from-meeting-notetaker-to-enterprise-ai-app/
  10. BusinessWire — “Otter.ai Caps Transformational 2025 with $100M ARR Milestone, Industry-first AI Meeting Agents, and Global Enterprise Expansion” (22 Dec 2025; 35M+ users; <200 employees; agents; HIPAA; API/MCP). https://www.businesswire.com/news/home/20251222704206/en/…
  11. Fireflies.ai blog — $1 billion valuation announcement (12 Jun 2025; tender offer; 20M users; profitable since 2023; “Talk to Fireflies”; CEO quote). https://fireflies.ai/blog/fireflies-1-billion-valuation
  12. Yahoo Finance — “Fireflies launches AI Sales Suite…” (21 Jul 2026; 20M+ users, 1M+ orgs, 22,000 sales teams; “fraction of what legacy platforms charge”). https://finance.yahoo.com/technology/ai/articles/fireflies-launches-ai-sales-suite-160000681.html
  13. aVenture News — “AI notetaker Fathom raises $17M” (19 Sept 2024; Telescope Partners; $2M Wefunder; 90× revenue / 20× usage in two years; $21.7M total; CEO quote on distribution). https://aventure.vc/news/2024-09-19-ai-notetaker-fathom-raises-17m
  14. GeekWire — “Seattle startup Read AI raises $50M to fuel ‘copilot everywhere’ vision” (28 Oct 2024; Smash Capital, Goodwater, Madrona; $81M total; 100K accounts/week; ~40 employees; zero marketing spend). https://www.geekwire.com/2024/seattle-startup-read-ai-raises-50m-to-fuel-copilot-everywhere-vision-for-enterprise-software/
  15. tl;dv blog — “tl;dv: One of Germany’s Fastest-Growing AI Startups…” (29 Apr 2026; €4.3M seed June 2022; eight-figure ARR; 20–30% margins; 2M+ users; 21,000+ customers; ~60 staff; Sifted 250; “built on Anthropic’s Claude”). https://tldv.io/blog/top-european-ai-startups-tldv/
  16. Read AI — “Read It! What’s New at Read AI — March 2026” (Ada assistant; MCP open beta “doubled week-over-week”; Slack, Notion, Confluence). https://www.read.ai/post/read-it-whats-new-at-read-ai----march-2026
  17. G2 — Otter.ai reviews (4.4★/504; complaint excerpts). https://www.g2.com/products/otter-ai/reviews
  18. G2 — Fireflies.ai reviews (4.7★/753; complaint excerpts). https://www.g2.com/products/fireflies-ai/reviews
  19. G2 — Fathom (fathom-video) reviews (5.0★/7,018; complaint excerpts). https://www.g2.com/products/fathom-video/reviews
  20. G2 — tl;dv reviews (4.7★/537; complaint excerpts). https://www.g2.com/products/tl-dv/reviews
  21. G2 — Granola reviews (4.7★/36; complaint excerpts). https://www.g2.com/products/granola/reviews
  22. G2 — Read AI reviews (4.0★/43; complaint excerpts). https://www.g2.com/products/read-ai-read-ai/reviews
  23. Capterra — Fireflies reviews (4.9★/735; complaint excerpts). https://www.capterra.com/p/197037/Fireflies/reviews/
  24. Capterra — tl;dv listing (0 reviews; Pro shown at $20/user/month). https://www.capterra.com/p/10015832/tldv/
  25. Trustpilot — otter.ai (3.7/5; 635 reviews; 32% one-star; complaint excerpts). https://www.trustpilot.com/review/otter.ai
  26. Trustpilot — read.ai (1.3/5; 107 reviews; 89% one-star; complaint excerpts). https://www.trustpilot.com/review/read.ai
  27. Chronicle of Higher Education — “AI Assistants Keep Joining Meetings. Administrators Say It’s Out of Control.” (13 Nov 2024; Read AI, Otter, Fireflies named; CalArts and University of Memphis actions). https://www.chronicle.com/article/ai-assistants-keep-joining-meetings-administrators-say-its-out-of-control
  28. Basil AI — “In re Otter.AI Privacy Litigation: What the May 2026 Hearing Means” (21 Jun 2026; N.D. Cal. 5:25-cv-06911; Brewer filed 15 Aug 2025; consolidated 22 Oct 2025; MTD heard 20 May 2026; ruling pending). https://basilai.app/articles/2026-06-21-in-re-otter-ai-privacy-litigation-may-2026-hearing-explained.html
  29. Google Meet Help — “‘Take notes for me’ in Google Meet” (eligibility; eight languages; one language per meeting). https://support.google.com/meet/answer/14754931
  30. Zoom — “Find the best AI tool for you” comparison page (AI Companion included with paid plans; ZoomMate from $20; Otter, Fathom, Granola, Copilot and Gemini prices as cited by Zoom). https://www.zoom.com/en/compare/zoom-vs-other-ai-tools/
  31. EPC Group — “Microsoft 365 Copilot Pricing & Licensing: Enterprise Guide 2026” ($30/user/month; base licence requirement; Teams meeting summaries). https://www.epcgroup.net/microsoft-365-copilot-pricing-licensing-enterprise-guide-2026
  32. Fireflies.ai — Integrations (“100+ apps”; categories; CRMs incl. Wealthbox, Redtail). https://fireflies.ai/integrations
  33. Fathom — Integrations (“20+ other tools”; named list). https://www.fathom.ai/integrations
  34. Fathom — Partner Programs (Solution, Integration, Points, Qualified Portfolio Partners). https://www.fathom.ai/partner-programs
  35. Fathom Help Center — Referral Program Guide (60-day Premium trial for referees; 30 days + points for referrers). https://help.fathom.video/en/articles/4381825
  36. alfred_ — “Granola AI Pricing 2026: The Free Plan’s 25-Note History Cap” (updated 28 Jun 2026; 2026 restructuring; former $18 Pro plan). https://get-alfred.ai/blog/granola-pricing
  37. Fathom — Homepage (“Never Take Notes Again”; “Now available bot-free”; “300K+ companies”; time-saved claims; compliance badges; Claude/ChatGPT/MCP). https://www.fathom.ai/
  38. tl;dv — Homepage (tagline; 2M+ users; “6000+ tools”; 30+ languages; EU hosting; G2 badge; Gong comparison). https://tldv.io/
  39. Read AI — Homepage (“Your AI Meeting Agent”; copilot positioning; Ada; integrations; 20+ languages; compliance). https://www.read.ai/
  40. Otter.ai — Homepage (“Conversational Knowledge Engine”; five agents; integrations; platforms). https://otter.ai/
  41. tl;dv blog — “Otter.ai Pricing: Is It Really Worth It? [Updated July 2026]” (competitor SEO content evidence). https://tldv.io/blog/otter-pricing/
  42. National Law Review — “AI Notetaking Tools Under Fire: Lessons from the Otter.ai Class Action Complaint” (Aug 2025; secondary legal commentary). https://natlawreview.com/article/ai-notetaking-tools-under-fire-lessons-otterai-class-action-complaint
  43. Fireflies.ai blog — “Fathom AI Notetaker Review + Top Alternatives [2026]” (competitor comparison content evidence). https://fireflies.ai/blog/fathom-ai-notetaker
  44. tl;dv blog — “How to Take Notes with Gemini on Google Meet (Updated April 2026)” (SEO content evidence). https://tldv.io/blog/gemini-google-meet/
  45. Read AI — “Google Meet Notes: How to Take and Share Them” (SEO content evidence). https://www.read.ai/articles/google-meet-notes-how-to-take-and-share-them
  46. Read AI — “How to Stop Read AI from Joining My Meetings” (help/marketing article). https://www.read.ai/articles/how-to-stop-read-ai-from-joining-my-meetings
  47. 9to5Google — “Google Meet adding in-person ‘Take Notes for me’ and Drive ‘projects’” (22 Apr 2026). https://9to5google.com/2026/04/22/google-workspace-next-2026/

Want this for your market?

Pro reports are $599, delivered in 72 hours, with a 100% money-back guarantee.

Order a report →