← KeenScout  ·  This is a full Pro-tier sample. Yours would be about your market. Order a report for your market →
Sample report
KeenScout · Competitor Intelligence Report · Pro

US Direct-to-Consumer Hangover-Recovery & “Morning-After” Supplements

Competitive landscape, pricing, positioning, whitespace and recommendations for a pre-launch DTC brand.

Prepared forPre-launch DTC hangover-recovery brand (client name withheld)
Report dateSeptember 2026
TierPro · 6 competitors · 5 analyses · 7 recommendations
Research windowLive pricing and reviews captured 1–5 Sept 2026; news coverage Jan 2024 – Sept 2026
Read this first. This document is a business-intelligence sample. It reports what competitors say and sell; it does not evaluate whether any product works, and it does not offer advice on health or medical claims. Any claim language you adopt should be reviewed by regulatory counsel — the FDA has treated “prevents/cures hangovers” as a disease claim and has issued warning letters on that basis.[38] Figures are cited by footnote; where a figure could not be verified we say so explicitly.

0Contents

  1. Executive summary — the 5 findings that matter
  2. Market context in one page
  3. Competitor profiles (6)
  4. Side-by-side comparison table
  5. Pricing map — cost per serving
  6. Positioning map
  7. Gaps & whitespace
  8. SWOT — ZBiotics, Cheers, More Labs
  9. What we’d do — 7 recommendations
  10. Methodology & limits
  11. Sources

1Executive summary — the five findings that matter

  1. The category has split into two price universes, and the middle is thin. ZBiotics sells a single pre-drinking shot at $9–$12 (sub $7.20–$9.60)[1][2][3]; More Labs’ Morning Recovery bottle runs $5.10–$6.00.[8] Below them, capsule brands cluster at $2.45–$3.99 per dose (Cheers, No Days Wasted, Flyby),[5][10][12] and commodity DHM on Amazon goes as low as roughly $0.66 per serving.[15] Nobody owns the $3.50–$5.00 “premium-but-not-precious” band with a differentiated format.
  2. “Take it before” is winning the narrative. ZBiotics (“your first drink of the night, engineered”), Cheers Restore (“take before bed”), No Days Wasted (“during your evening or before bed, not the next day”) and More Labs’ new Pre-Alcohol Mix all push consumption to the night of drinking.[1][4][9][8] Yet Grand View Research estimates 73% of 2024 US category revenue still went to “remedy” (next-morning) products[16] — a large, under-served morning-after buyer that the leaders are actively walking away from.
  3. Efficacy inconsistency is the #1 complaint across every brand, and the leaders have chosen to absorb it with guarantees rather than fix it. Cheers publishes a page titled “Why Cheers won’t work for everyone” and offers a 45-day money-back guarantee;[18] ZBiotics offers 100% money-back;[2] Cheers’ own site shows a 3/5 “Value” sub-score on its best-seller.[4] A new entrant that sets expectations honestly (“reduces, doesn’t erase”) has room to win trust.
  4. The leaders are moving off-DTC fast. Cheers cites 30,000+ retail locations and started broad-reach TV advertising in late 2025;[4][19] More Labs claims 40,000+ stores and launched a Total Wine exclusive in Dec 2025;[20] ZBiotics raised $12M in 2024 specifically for retail, has passed 15M shots sold, and is in Total Wine, BevMo and Amazon.[21][22] DTC is now the entry point, not the moat — the new brand should plan a 12–18-month path to on-premise and liquor-retail distribution from day one.
  5. Hydration is a bigger adjacent threat than another DHM pill. Liquid I.V. — a Unilever “power brand” aiming at $1B — sells at $1.22–$1.75 per stick and explicitly lists “nights out” among its use occasions without making hangover claims.[13][24][25] Powdered hydration reached ~$1.5B in 2024 (+20%),[26] and Cheers and No Days Wasted have both added hydration SKUs. The client’s roadmap needs an answer to “why not just buy Liquid I.V.?”

2Market context in one page

Size. Grand View Research projects the US hangover-cure products market at USD 1.14 billion by 2030, growing at a 14.4% CAGR (2025–2030). Its 2024 segment reads: tablets/capsules 54.3% of product-form revenue; “remedy” products 73% vs. “preventative” 27%; online retail 61.9% of distribution.[16] Treat these as directional — syndicated market-sizing reports vary widely in method and we did not purchase the underlying model.

Momentum. Trade press in September 2026 describes hangover prevention as “the hottest new wellness trend,” noting newcomers such as Undo (pre-alcohol gummies; $1M seed in Aug 2026; 889 Target doors) and Liqure (gummies, convenience channel), and spotting ZBiotics on-menu at a Manhattan steakhouse at $12 a shot.[27] The category is being framed inside “wellness / productivity,” not “sober-curious.”

Regulatory backdrop. In July 2020 the FDA sent warning letters to seven companies marketing hangover products, on the reasoning that “a hangover is a sign or symptom of alcohol intoxication, a disease,” so prevent/treat language constitutes an unapproved drug claim.[38] This is why incumbents use euphemisms — “after-alcohol aid,” “better mornings,” “rough mornings,” “feel like you drank half.” We flag this as context only; we do not advise on claims.

Adjacent pressure. Powdered hydration mixes reached ~$1.5B in 2024 with 20% growth, and category analysts now explicitly include “managing hangovers” among the everyday-wellness use cases driving that growth.[26]

3Competitor profiles

Prices are one-time DTC list prices on each brand’s own site unless noted, captured 1–5 Sept 2026. “Per serving” uses the brand’s stated dose. Amazon and Trustpilot data are noted with the source we could actually verify; see Methodology for what was blocked.

3.1 ZBiotics — Pre-Alcohol Probiotic Drink Category price leaderPre-drinking

Lineup
Pre-Alcohol probiotic shot (single SKU; 3-, 6-, 12-, 50- and 100-packs) plus a second product, Sugar-to-Fiber (powder sachets).[1][2]
Prices
3-pack $36 ($12/bottle); 6-pack $60 ($10); 12-pack $108 ($9). Subscribe & Save 20% → roughly $7.20–$9.60 per bottle.[2][3][1] Free shipping; 100% money-back guarantee.[3]
Per serving
$9.00–$12.00 one-time; ~$7.20–$9.60 on subscription. One bottle = one serving.
Ingredient / claim
Genetically engineered Bacillus subtilis ZB183 that “breaks down a toxic byproduct of alcohol called acetaldehyde.” Positioning: “The world’s first genetically engineered probiotics,” “Your first drink of the night, engineered,” “Better living through biotechnology.” Sugar-free, vegan, third-party tested.[1][28]
Where it sells
DTC (since 2019), Amazon (since 2023), Total Wine, BevMo, Equinox’s shop, specialty grocery, restaurants/hospitality via a partner program.[22][28][29]
Reviews
Own site: 2,288 total reviews, 4.21/5 (1,450 five-star).[1] Thingtesting: 4.8/5 from 171 reviews.[30] Amazon rating: not retrievable (Amazon blocked automated access during research). Trustpilot: not retrievable.
Marketing
CEO tells AgFunderNews that podcasts are “particularly effective” and that word-of-mouth drives most sales, with high repeat rates.[22] Coupon aggregators list a rolling set of 10–20% creator/podcast codes.[31] On-premise sampling (e.g., restaurant menus).[27]
Recent news
$12M Series A (Aug 2024, led by Spring Tide Capital) earmarked for a Q1 2025 retail rollout; profitable since 2023; 5M shots sold at the time.[21] Acquired January AI’s “Eden’s” synbiotic gut-health assets (Sept 2025; terms undisclosed).[32] By July 2026: 15M+ shots sold, 113% CAGR 2021–2025, “price is not proving to be a barrier.”[22]

Most common complaints (near-verbatim)

“Slightly unpleasant vegetal taste.” — Thingtesting summary[30]

“Inconsistent efficacy for some.” — Thingtesting summary[30]

“It didn’t work for me after drinking several drinks in an evening.” — independent reviewer, who also flagged occasional next-day nausea[33]

“Must be taken pre-drinking” / “about $10 a vial.” — Thingtesting summary[30]

Read: ZBiotics has made the price objection disappear for its buyers by owning a unique mechanism story; complaints cluster on taste, the planning burden, and the fact that a pre-drink shot can’t help once you forgot to take it.

3.2 Cheers (Cheers Health, Inc.) — Restore, Relief, Hydrate, Protect Widest lineupBefore bed + morning

Lineup
Restore (after-alcohol aid, take before bed; 12 doses × 3 capsules), Relief (next-morning aid, 12 doses), Hydrate (12 electrolyte servings), Protect (daily liver support, 30 doses); 3-dose trial packs; five bundles.[5][4]
Prices
Restore $35 (sub $30/mo); Relief $35 ($30); Hydrate $20 ($17); Protect $30 ($25); 3-dose Restore or Relief $40 (positioned as a sampler/travel size); Restore “Party Pack” $120; combos $50–$81.[5]
Per serving
Restore/Relief $2.92 one-time, $2.50 sub (“less than $3 per better morning”); Hydrate $1.67; Protect $1.00.[4][5]
Ingredients / claim
Restore: DHM (dihydromyricetin) — the Target listing shows 1,200 mg per serving — L-Cysteine HCl 450 mg, milk thistle, prickly pear, B vitamins, sodium/potassium.[6][4] Claim: targets “GABA rebound” and “acetaldehyde exposure”; “wake up feeling like you drank roughly half the amount, or your money back”; references a human study behind a granted patent. Brand line: “The #1 brand in alcohol-related health.”[4][5]
Where it sells
DTC, Amazon, Walmart, Target, Sam’s Club (45-ct), Instacart; “30,000+ retail locations,” including convenience/travel via Lil’ Drug Store Products (Nov 2023 deal).[5][6][7][34]
Reviews
Own site (Restore): 4.7/5, 1,092 reviews; sub-scores Efficacy 4/5, Value 3/5.[4] Walmart: 4.5/5, 1,289 reviews.[7] Target (9-ct): 4.3/5, 892 reviews; 12% one-star.[6] Sam’s Club (45-ct): 4.3/5, 750 reviews.[35] Amazon: a third-party guide reports 4.0/5 on ~7,972 reviews — not independently verified.[15] Thingtesting: 3.9/5 (12 reviews).[36] Trustpilot: not retrievable.
Marketing
Shark Tank alumnus (as “Thrive+”), still merchandised on-site; founder Brooks Powell runs a founder-led TikTok (@thecheersceo) and LinkedIn presence; StartEngine equity crowdfunding used as marketing (“INVEST20” code); broad-reach TV/CTV from late 2025, after which one agency reports its share-of-search overtook No Days Wasted.[19][37]
Recent news
Lil’ Drug Store distribution deal (Nov 2023; “25 million doses to half a million people” at the time).[34] Earlier disclosures: $10.4M revenue and $1.7M profit in 2020; $25M cumulative online revenue by Sept 2021.[17][37] Current revenue: not disclosed. TV investment late 2025.[19]

Most common complaints (near-verbatim)

“It works pretty good, not a miracle but it helps 75%. Too expensive per dose.” — Walmart[7]

“Some days I’d wake up feeling awful and with a splitting headache, some days I’d wake up feeling okay.” — Sam’s Club / Target[35][6]

“No difference, and was hard on my stomach.” — Target[6]

“I really could not get over how large these pills are and that you have to take 3 of them after a night of drinking.” — Thingtesting[36]

“The font on the instruction booklet is so small… I literally had to get a magnifying glass.” — Sam’s Club[35]

Read: Cheers openly concedes variability (“roughly two-thirds report significant benefits, one-sixth moderate, one-sixth little or none,” by its own reading of Amazon reviews)[18] and leans on a 45-day guarantee. Pill count/size and the before-bed compliance moment are recurring friction.

3.3 Flyby — Recovery Capsules Amazon-native value playBefore + before bed

Lineup
Recovery Capsules in 20-, 40-, 80- and 240-count; electrolyte powder and electrolyte capsules; “Fuel” and other wellness SKUs. Dose: 2 capsules with food before drinking + 2 before bed (4 per night).[10][11]
Prices
20-count $19.97 one-time / $16.97 subscribe (15% off). Larger counts on site not captured; a 2025–26 third-party review lists the 80-count at $34.99 and a 20-count at $17.99, so prices have moved.[10][12]
Per serving
$3.99 (20-ct, 5 nights) / $3.39 sub; about $1.75 at the 80-ct bulk price.[10][12]
Ingredients / claim
DHM (300 mg per serving per a third-party review; the brand’s own page discloses “more than effective amount” without a figure), milk thistle, prickly pear, vitamin C, apple cider vinegar, ≥100% DV of B1/B2/B6/B9/B12, 18 amino acids, sodium/magnesium/potassium. Tagline: “All The Hang, Without The Over!” Vegan, made in USA.[10][12]
Where it sells
Amazon (historically ~50% of revenue), DTC, Groupon; retail is a small wholesale minority.[11][39]
Reviews
Own site: 1,777 reviews, 83% five-star, 17% four-star (no lower ratings displayed — treat with caution).[10] Amazon: third-party guides cite 4.3–4.5 stars across “thousands” of reviews and “7,200+” on the main listing — not independently verified.[12][15][40] Trustpilot: not retrievable.
Marketing
Founder playbook (Starter Story): Amazon first, Meta ads at ~3× ROAS, third-party Facebook pages, influencer seeding (e.g., @weworewhat), press, 70K-subscriber email list (~20% of revenue), free-sample funnel, referrals (~one-third of customers).[11] Current TikTok/podcast activity: not observed in our sweep.
Recent news
None found for 2025–2026 (no funding, retail or launch announcements surfaced). Revenue last publicly discussed at ~$200K/month (“on track for $2.5M annually”) in the Starter Story interview; current figures not disclosed.[11]

Most common complaints (near-verbatim)

“Less effective for extremely heavy drinking sessions.” — DHM Guide review synthesis[12]

“Large capsule size can be difficult to swallow.” — DHM Guide[12]

“Higher cost per dose relative to basic DHM alternatives.” — DHM Guide[12]

“Not all users report complete relief… reduced effectiveness when doses are missed or taken too late.” — LeafSnap[40]

“The return policy is stricter for sale items.” — LeafSnap[40]

3.4 More Labs — Morning Recovery Ready-to-drink leaderDuring/after drinking

Lineup
Morning Recovery 3.4 fl oz shot in Lemon, Sugar-Free Lemon, Orange Mango, Lemon Ginger, Sugar-Free Watermelon (Total Wine exclusive); Morning Recovery + Energy (Berry); Pre-Alcohol Mix powder (10-pack, Lemon Lime); Liquid Focus; Dream Well sleep shot; bundles.[8][20]
Prices
6-pack $36.00 (struck from $42) / $30.60 subscribe (15% off); 12- and 24-packs offered (prices not captured); Pre-Alcohol Mix $34.99/10; Day & Night bundle $84; Holiday Variety $120.[8]
Per serving
$6.00 one-time / $5.10 sub (Morning Recovery); $3.50 (Pre-Alcohol Mix).
Ingredients / claim
DHM (Hovenia dulcis extract), milk thistle, prickly pear, Korean pear, green tea, red ginseng, B & C vitamins, 114 mg electrolytes; individual DHM dose not disclosed on the product page (a third-party guide cites 500 mg).[8][15] Claim: “In a randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled clinical study, users… felt up to 80% better”; “Engineered to prevent rough mornings.”[8]
Where it sells
DTC, Amazon, TikTok Shop, Target, Walmart, Total Wine & More, Gopuff/Uber Eats; company states “more than 40,000 retail stores nationwide.”[20][41]
Reviews
Own site: 4.9/5, 892 reviews, “100% would recommend.”[8] Walmart listing: 0 reviews.[42] Thingtesting: 4.6/5 (5 reviews).[43] Amazon current rating: not retrievable; a 2019 review cited 3.9/5 on 363 reviews — dated, use only as a floor.[44] Trustpilot: not retrievable.
Marketing
Retail-led (Total Wine exclusive flavors, Target/Walmart), TikTok Shop listing, Amazon brand store; own-site “Play, Work & Sleep” lifestyle framing. Podcast/creator program: not observed in sweep.[8][20][41]
Recent news
Sugar-Free Watermelon launched as a Total Wine & More exclusive, 5 Dec 2025 (fifth SKU in that chain).[20] Funding/revenue since 2020: not disclosed.

Most common complaints (near-verbatim)

“Tastes pretty awful.” / “sub-par taste.” — Thingtesting[43]

“Very expensive though, so I would only use it for a particularly exciting event.” — Thingtesting[43]

“It could be confusing at first because you need to figure out when you’re supposed to take [it].” — Thingtesting[43]

“Difficult to travel with” (bottles); “uses a proprietary blend.” — The Athletic Build[44]

Read: The ready-to-drink format wins in liquor stores and on-premise, but taste, price-per-bottle and portability recur. The Pre-Alcohol Mix launch shows More Labs hedging toward the “before” narrative at a lower price point.

3.5 No Days Wasted — DHM Detox DHM specialistDuring evening / before bed

Lineup
DHM Detox (15 packets × 2 capsules), DHM Detox Jar, Hydration Replenisher (30-packet and 24-pack variety), Sleep Assist, and two bundles (Night & Day Defense Duo; Recover & Recharge).[9][14]
Prices
DHM Detox 15-pack: $39.10 one-time (shown as 15% off) / $36.80 subscription (20% off); 30-pack $89; 60-pack $172 on subscription. Jar $28. Hydration Replenisher 30-pack $44 list, $37.40 one-time, $35.20 sub.[9][14] Note: the collection page and product page show slightly different promo prices — on-site pricing appears to rotate.
Per serving
DHM Detox $2.45–$2.61; Hydration Replenisher $1.17–$1.47.[9][14]
Ingredients / claim
DHM (brand page does not print the mg; a third-party guide cites 1,000 mg + 200 mg L-Cysteine), milk thistle, organic prickly pear, B1/B3/B6/B12, sodium/potassium. Claim: acetaldehyde drives “~80% of the negative effects” next day; take “during your evening or before bed, not the next day.” Hydration: 400 mg sodium, 250 mg potassium, 60 mg magnesium, 4 g cane sugar, 20 kcal.[9][14][45]
Where it sells
DTC, Amazon brand store, Thrive Market; store locator suggests independent retail; Canadian-founded, “made & distributed in the USA.”[9][46]
Reviews
Own site: DHM Detox 4.8/5, 1,315+ reviews, 97% would recommend; bundles 4.8/5 on 1,112–1,469 reviews.[9] Amazon: third-party guides report 4.3/5 on ~201–359 reviews for the main ASIN — not independently verified.[45][15] Trustpilot: not retrievable.
Marketing
Active brand TikTok (@nodayswasted) and Instagram (@nodayswastedco) with product-explainer short video; Amazon brand store. Follower counts could not be read (TikTok blocks automated access).[47] An agency analysis notes Cheers’ TV push pushed its share-of-search above No Days Wasted in late 2025 — implying NDW was the search leader before that.[19]
Recent news
None found for 2025–2026. Last major press: Forbes on its move into retail (Feb 2021).[46] Funding and revenue: not disclosed.

Most common complaints (near-verbatim)

“Effective but wish they offered larger packages. Having to reorder every month gets expensive and sometimes it’s out of stock.” — Amazon reviewer quoted by DHM Guide[45]

“Only 15 servings per package.” / “Frequently out of stock.” — DHM Guide synthesis[45]

“Premium pricing.” — DHM Guide[15]

3.6 Liquid I.V. (Unilever) — adjacent hydration threat AdjacentAny time, incl. “nights out”

Lineup
Hydration Multiplier stick packs in 16+ flavors; Sugar-Free (30%+ of US sales since 2023 launch); Energy, Immune, Sleep, Kids and Probiotic variants; Variety Pack; licensed flavors (Popsicle, Spider-Man).[13][23]
Prices
Single flavors “from $24.99” (16 sticks); Variety Pack $27.99 one-time / $19.59 subscribe (30% off). Costco, Amazon and Walmart routinely undercut DTC.[13][23][48]
Per serving
$1.56–$1.75 DTC one-time; $1.22 on subscription; typically ≈$1.00 or lower at club/Amazon (estimate; promotional).
Ingredients / claim
“Cellular Transport Technology” electrolyte + glucose ratio; “faster hydration than water alone”; “3× the electrolytes of the leading sports drink.” Company spokesperson: it “can be used for a variety of occasions, including heat, travel, exercise, and nights out.” No hangover claims.[23][25]
Where it sells
Everywhere: Costco, Walmart, Target, Amazon, drug and grocery; eight international markets.[24][49]
Reviews
Thingtesting 4.1/5, 2,550 reviews.[50] Amazon rating (tens of thousands of ratings on the 30-stick ASIN): not retrievable in this sweep. Trustpilot page exists; not retrievable.
Marketing
Unilever “Power Brand”: Times Square robot sampling (15,000 samples), Love Island integration, “I.V. O’Clock” 4 p.m. contextual targeting, festival activations, Strava challenge (88K participants), London Marathon.[24][25] #WaterTok social momentum cited by CNN.[26]
Recent news
Brand up “more than sevenfold globally” since the 2020 acquisition; aiming to be a $1B business; Sugar-Free range extended to the UK (May 2026).[24][25] Powdered hydration ≈$1.5B in 2024, +20%.[26]

Most common complaints (near-verbatim)

“Overly sweet flavor profiles.” / “Noticeable salty aftertaste.” / “High sugar and sodium content.” / “Occasional clumping texture.” — Thingtesting synthesis[50]

Why it matters: Consumer media now routinely tests Liquid I.V. “for hangovers” and concludes it helps the dehydration-headache piece but not nausea or fatigue.[25] That is exactly the framing a new brand can use: hydration is necessary but not sufficient — and Liquid I.V. is legally constrained from arguing back.

4Side-by-side comparison

BrandHero SKU & formatWhen takenHero mechanism (as marketed)DTC pricePer servingChannelsReviews (best verified)Momentum
ZBioticsPre-Alcohol 15 mL shotBefore first drinkGM B. subtilis ZB183 producing acetaldehyde-degrading enzyme$36 / 3; $108 / 12$9–$12DTC, Amazon, Total Wine, BevMo, Equinox, on-premise4.21★ / 2,288 (own site)$12M Series A; 15M+ shots; acquisition
CheersRestore capsules (3/dose)Before bed (Restore); morning (Relief)DHM 1,200 mg + L-Cysteine 450 mg; “GABA rebound” + acetaldehyde$35 / 12 doses$2.92DTC, Amazon, Walmart, Target, Sam’s, 30K+ doors4.5★ / 1,289 (Walmart); 4.3★ / 892 (Target)TV/CTV from late 2025; c-store via LDSP
FlybyRecovery capsules (4/night)Before drinking + before bedDHM (~300 mg, 3rd-party), milk thistle, B-vits, electrolytes$19.97 / 20 ct$3.99 (≈$1.75 bulk)Amazon-led, DTC, Groupon1,777 (own site; 5★/4★ only)No 2025–26 news found
More LabsMorning Recovery 3.4 oz RTD shotDuring / after drinkingDHM (Hovenia dulcis) blend; “up to 80% better” RCT claim$36 / 6$6.00DTC, Amazon, TikTok Shop, Target, Walmart, Total Wine; 40K+ stores4.9★ / 892 (own site)Total Wine exclusive Dec 2025; Pre-Alcohol Mix
No Days WastedDHM Detox packets (2 caps)During evening / before bedDHM (~1,000 mg, 3rd-party) + L-Cysteine, milk thistle, electrolytes$39.10 / 15$2.45–$2.61DTC, Amazon, Thrive Market, indie retail4.8★ / 1,315 (own site); 4.3★ Amazon (3rd-party)No 2025–26 news found
Liquid I.V.Hydration Multiplier stickAny time (“nights out” listed)Electrolyte-glucose “CTT”; no hangover claim$27.99 / 16$1.22–$1.75Mass, club, drug, Amazon, DTC4.1★ / 2,550 (Thingtesting)Unilever Power Brand, $1B ambition

Sources: brand sites and retailer pages captured Sept 2026; see footnotes [1]–[15], [20]–[24]. DHM milligram figures marked “3rd-party” were not printed as text on the brand’s own page and come from DHM Guide.[12][15][45]

5Pricing map — cost per serving (one-time DTC)

ZBiotics (3-pack)
$12.00
ZBiotics (12-pack)
$9.00
More Labs Morning Recovery
$6.00
Flyby (20-ct)
$3.99
More Labs Pre-Alcohol Mix
$3.50
Cheers Restore
$2.92
No Days Wasted DHM Detox
$2.61
Flyby (80-ct bulk)
$1.75
Liquid I.V. (16-stick)
$1.75
Cheers Hydrate
$1.67
NDW Hydration Replenisher
$1.47
Commodity DHM (Amazon, e.g. Double Wood)
$0.66
Bar length proportional to price; navy = differentiated format (shot/RTD), teal = capsule, light = hydration/commodity.

What the map says. Subscription discounts (15–30%) compress but don’t reorder the ladder. There is an unoccupied band between roughly $3.50 and $5.00 where a brand could offer a format upgrade over capsules (gummy, chew, dissolvable, single-serve liquid sachet) without asking for ZBiotics-level belief in a novel mechanism. Below $2.50 you are competing with Amazon private-label DHM on price alone, which is a losing game for a launch brand.[15]

6Positioning map

Horizontal axis: when the product is used (before drinking → morning after). Vertical axis: how much the brand asks the customer to believe (mainstream hydration/vitamins → novel proprietary mechanism). Dot placement is KeenScout’s qualitative judgement from marketing copy, not a survey.

Novel mechanism / high belief Familiar ingredients / low belief ← Before drinking Morning after →
ZBiotics
Cheers Restore
No Days Wasted
Flyby
More Labs
Cheers Relief
Liquid I.V.
Open: credible morning-after
Open: low-belief pre-game

Two open cells stand out: (a) a credible, differentiated morning-after product — the segment Grand View sizes at 73% of revenue but which only Cheers Relief serves with a branded SKU;[16] and (b) a low-belief pre-game product (simple, familiar, cheap, tasty) for people who won’t pay $10 for a GMO shot but like the “before” ritual — the space Undo’s gummies and More Labs’ Pre-Alcohol Mix are just starting to probe.[27][8]

7Gaps & whitespace

  1. The honest morning-after SKU. Incumbents have retreated to “night-of” dosing because their mechanism stories require it. The person who wakes up already hungover — the majority of remedy-segment spend[16] — is served by Cheers Relief ($2.92) and by generic hydration. A well-formulated, well-flavored morning product with explicitly modest expectations is open.
  2. Format. Every DHM leader is capsules (3–4 per dose; “large pills” recurs in reviews)[6][12][36] or a 3.4 oz glass/plastic bottle that is “difficult to travel with.”[44] Gummies (Undo, Liqure), jellies (Day-guard) and patches (The Good Patch) are appearing but none has a scaled DTC brand behind it.[27][51]
  3. Dose transparency. Flyby, More Labs and No Days Wasted all obscure DHM milligrams on-page (“proprietary blend,” “more than effective amount”).[10][8][9] Only Cheers’ retail listings print numbers.[6] A label-forward brand (“here is exactly what and how much”) speaks to the Amazon shopper who compares supplement facts.
  4. Pack-size logic. The most consistent NDW complaint is 15 servings per box and stock-outs;[45] Cheers sells a $40 three-dose pack that is more per dose than its 12-pack.[5] There is room for a sensible ladder: 2-serving trial at impulse price, 10-serving core, 30-serving “season pass.”
  5. Occasion marketing that isn’t “party.” Leaders skew to nightlife and “feel like you drank half.” Under-addressed occasions with the same physiology and higher willingness to pay: wedding weekends, business travel/conferences, bachelor/bachelorette trips, tailgates, wine-country tourism, and the 35–55 “two glasses of wine feels like six now” buyer.
  6. Hydration + recovery in one step. Cheers and NDW sell hydration as a separate SKU; Liquid I.V. sells hydration without a recovery story.[5][14][25] A single-sachet “both” product at ~$3–4 sits in the pricing gap and answers the “why not just Liquid I.V.?” objection directly.
  7. Retail-ready packaging from day one. Cheers’ 9-ct at Target, More Labs’ single bottles at Total Wine, and ZBiotics on restaurant menus show the winning retail unit is a 1–3 serving impulse pack near the register.[6][20][27] Design the DTC hero pack to break down into that unit.

8SWOT — top three competitors

ZBiotics

Strengths
  • Unique, patented, defensible mechanism story; only brand that is not “a DHM pill.”
  • Proven pricing power ($9–$12; “price is not proving to be a barrier”).[22]
  • Profitable, funded ($12M), 15M+ units, 113% CAGR 2021–25.[21][22]
  • Podcast + word-of-mouth engine with high repeat.[22]
Weaknesses
  • Must be taken before the first drink — zero utility once forgotten.[30]
  • “Vegetal” taste; single-SKU dependence for alcohol use case.[30]
  • “GMO” framing limits some natural/organic retail sets.
  • Highest per-serving price in category invites trade-down.
Opportunities
  • Retail and on-premise rollout with Series A capital; menu placement at $12.[21][27]
  • Platform extension (gut, sleep, athletic) via Eden’s acquisition.[32]
Threats
  • Cheaper pre-game formats (gummies, powders) copying the “before” ritual at a third of the price.[27][8]
  • Any regulatory scrutiny of GM-probiotic labelling or implied hangover claims.[38]

Cheers

Strengths
  • Broadest lineup (before bed, morning, hydration, daily) and most retail doors (30K+).[5]
  • Printed doses on retail packs; patent + human-study language.[6][4]
  • Founder-led media presence, Shark Tank halo, TV/CTV scale.[19]
  • 45-day guarantee blunts efficacy risk at purchase.[18]
Weaknesses
  • Own site Value score 3/5; 12% one-star on Target; recurring “too expensive per dose,” pill size, nausea.[4][6][36]
  • Has publicly acknowledged ~one-sixth of users get little or no effect.[18]
  • Crowdfunded cap table; current revenue undisclosed since 2021.[17][37]
Opportunities
  • Convenience/travel via Lil’ Drug Store’s ~180K-location network.[34]
  • Own the “morning” with Relief as competitors abandon it.
Threats
  • Format innovators making 3-capsule doses feel dated.
  • Amazon commodity DHM at $0.66/serving with printed 1,000 mg doses.[15]
  • TV spend without disclosed scale could be hard to sustain.

More Labs

Strengths
  • Ready-to-drink shot suits liquor stores, bars and delivery apps; 40K+ stores claimed.[20]
  • Flavor portfolio and retailer exclusives (Total Wine).[20]
  • RCT-backed “up to 80% better” claim is the most specific efficacy message in the set.[8]
Weaknesses
  • $6/bottle and “tastes pretty awful”/“sub-par taste” complaints.[43]
  • Proprietary blend; no printed DHM dose; bottles hard to travel with.[44]
  • Zero reviews on its Walmart listing suggests thin mass-channel engagement.[42]
Opportunities
  • Pre-Alcohol Mix at $3.50 opens a lower price tier and the “before” narrative.[8]
  • Bundling with Dream Well/Liquid Focus into a “Play, Work & Sleep” routine.[8]
Threats
  • Liquid I.V. and hydration sticks occupying the same cooler and checkout space at a quarter of the price.[13]
  • Capital and revenue undisclosed since 2020 — expansion may be slower than door counts imply.

9What we’d do — seven recommendations

  1. Launch a two-SKU system, not one hero: “Night” + “Morning.” Night is the table-stakes DHM/electrolyte product at $2.90–$3.30 per serving (parity with Cheers Restore). Morning is your differentiation — the only credible, well-flavored morning-after SKU besides Cheers Relief, in a non-capsule format. Bundle them at $59–$65 for 12+12 to land near Cheers’ R&R combo ($63).[5]
  2. Price the hero at $3.75–$4.25 per serving and defend it with format, not mechanism. That lands in the empty band between capsules ($2.45–$3.99) and shots ($6–$12). Use a chewable, gummy or stick-pack liquid — the “large pills, 3–4 a night” complaint is the most consistent format grievance in the set.[6][12][36] Subscribe-and-save at 20% (category norm: ZBiotics 20%, NDW 20%, More Labs 15%, Flyby 15%, Liquid I.V. 30%).
  3. Print every milligram on the front of the digital shelf. Put a supplement-facts panel as text (not an image) on the PDP and Amazon A+ content. Three of five DHM competitors hide dose;[8][9][10] Amazon shoppers cross-check Double Wood at 1,000 mg/$0.66.[15] Transparency is your cheapest trust signal — it is not a claim.
  4. Set expectations lower than Cheers and ZBiotics, on purpose. Replace “feel like you drank half” style promises with a measured, occasion-based promise plus a no-questions 30-day guarantee. Cheers already publishes that a sixth of users see little effect;[18] a brand that says “helps most people, not everyone — here’s our refund policy” up front will convert the sceptical 30–45 buyer and will generate fewer one-star reviews. (Claim wording itself is a counsel question — see the FDA’s 2020 letters.[38])
  5. Build a pack ladder engineered for retail from day one. 2-serving trial (~$7.99, impulse/travel), 10-serving core, 30-serving “season pass.” The retail unit that is winning is a 1–3 serving pack at the register (Cheers 9-ct at Target, single Morning Recovery bottles at Total Wine, ZBiotics on menus).[6][20][27] Target liquor retail (Total Wine, BevMo, regional chains) in months 9–15, where ZBiotics and More Labs have already trained buyers on the category.
  6. Own occasions, not nightlife. Direct the first 6 months of creator and paid spend at wedding-weekend, conference/travel and wine-country contexts, plus the 35–55 buyer, via podcasts (ZBiotics reports podcasts as its most effective channel)[22] and TikTok Shop affiliates (where More Labs is listed but no competitor is visibly dominant).[41] Reserve TV; Cheers has just bought that ground.[19]
  7. Answer the Liquid I.V. objection in the product, not the ad. Ship the Morning SKU with a full electrolyte load (benchmark: NDW’s 400 mg sodium / 250 mg potassium / 60 mg magnesium per packet)[14] so the comparison chart reads “everything in a hydration stick, plus what a hydration stick can’t include.” Liquid I.V. cannot market to the occasion explicitly; you can build for it.[25]
First 90 days, sequenced: (1) lock formats and printed doses with your manufacturer; (2) claims review with counsel; (3) pre-launch waitlist seeded through 8–10 mid-size podcasts and 25–40 TikTok Shop affiliates in the occasions above; (4) Amazon listing live on day one with text supplement facts and a 2-serving trial ASIN; (5) collect 200+ verified reviews before the first retail pitch.

10Methodology & limits

11Sources

  1. ZBiotics — Pre-Alcohol product page (prices, review count, strain, claims). https://zbiotics.com/products/zbiotics
  2. ZBiotics — 12-pack page ($108). https://zbiotics.com/products/zbiotics-12-pack
  3. ZBiotics — 6-pack page ($60; free shipping; money-back guarantee). https://zbiotics.com/products/zbiotics-6-pack
  4. Cheers — Restore product page (price, 3 caps/dose, 4.7★/1,092, Efficacy 4/5, Value 3/5, claims). https://cheershealth.com/products/restore
  5. Cheers — All products / bundles and “30,000+ retail locations.” https://cheershealth.com/collections/all
  6. Target — Cheers Restore 9-ct listing (DHM 1,200 mg, L-Cysteine 450 mg, 4.3★/892, rating breakdown, review excerpts). https://www.target.com/p/cheers-health-restore-after-alcohol-aid-capsules-9ct/-/A-94921477
  7. Walmart — Cheers Restore customer reviews (4.5★/1,289; excerpts). https://www.walmart.com/reviews/product/3088155503
  8. More Labs — shop and Morning Recovery product pages (prices, flavors, ingredients, 4.9★/892, RCT claim, Pre-Alcohol Mix). https://morelabs.com/collections/all · https://morelabs.com/products/morning-recovery
  9. No Days Wasted — DHM Detox product page and shop (prices, 2 caps/packet, 4.8★/1,315+, claims). https://nodayswasted.co/products/dhm-detox · https://nodayswasted.co/collections/all
  10. Flyby — Recovery Capsules product page ($19.97/$16.97, dosing, ingredients, 1,777 reviews). https://www.flyby.co/products/recovery-capsules
  11. Starter Story — “Flyby: Selling $1M of Hangover Pills in 10 Months” (founder interview: channels, revenue, Amazon share). https://www.starterstory.com/stories/flyby-selling-1m-of-hangover-pills-in-10-months
  12. DHM Guide — “Flyby Recovery Review 2026” (DHM 300 mg, 80-ct $34.99, Amazon rating range, complaints). https://www.dhmguide.com/blog/flyby-recovery-review-2025
  13. Liquid I.V. — Hydration Multiplier collection (“from $24.99”; flavors). https://www.liquid-iv.com/collections/hydration-multiplier
  14. No Days Wasted — Hydration Replenisher page (prices, electrolyte mg, sugar, 4.6★/162+). https://nodayswasted.co/products/hydration-replenisher
  15. DHM Guide — “Best Hangover Prevention Supplements 2026” (per-serving prices, third-party Amazon ratings: Cheers 4.0★/7,972; NDW 4.3★/359; Double Wood 4.4★/1,145 at $0.66). https://www.dhmguide.com/never-hungover/hangover-supplements-complete-guide-what-actually-works-2025
  16. Grand View Research (via GII) — U.S. Hangover Cure Products Market, 2025–2030 (USD 1.14B by 2030; 14.4% CAGR; segment shares). https://www.giiresearch.com/report/grvi1633729-us-hangover-cure-products-market-size-share-trends.html
  17. InnovationMap (Houston) — Cheers 2020 revenue $10.4M / $1.7M profit; Restore beverage launch. https://houston.innovationmap.com/cheers-health-expands-product-line-2654301095.html
  18. Cheers blog — “Why Cheers won’t work for everyone” (variability, 45-day guarantee). https://cheershealth.com/blog/why-cheers-wont-work-for-everyone
  19. Left Hand Agency — “What Cheers’ move into broad reach media tells us” (TV from late 2025; share of search vs No Days Wasted; ~30K doors). https://www.lefthandagency.com/post/what-cheers-move-into-broad-reach-media-tells-us-about-brand-growth
  20. BevNET — “Morning Recovery by More Labs Debuts Exclusive New Flavor at Total Wine & More” (5 Dec 2025; 40,000+ stores). https://www.bevnet.com/pr/2025/12/05/morning-recovery-by-more-labs-debuts-exclusive-new-flavor-at-total-wine--more
  21. BevNET — “‘Proudly GMO’ ZBiotics Closes $12M Round, Plots Retail Expansion” (Aug 2024; investors; 5M shots; profitable 2023). https://www.bevnet.com/news/2024/proudly-gmo-zbiotics-closes-12m-round-plots-retail-expansion/
  22. AgFunderNews — “ZBiotics takes GM probiotics mainstream with 15m+ ‘pre-alcohol’ shots sold” (1 Jul 2026; 113% CAGR; channels; podcasts; pricing quote). https://agfundernews.com/zbiotics-takes-gm-probiotics-mainstream-with-15m-pre-alcohol-shots-sold
  23. Liquid I.V. — Variety Pack product page ($27.99 / $19.59 sub; 16 sticks; claims). https://www.liquid-iv.com/products/variety-pack-hydration-multiplier
  24. Unilever — “Liquid I.V. bolsters hydration category with new sugar-free range” (18 May 2026; sevenfold growth; Sugar-Free >30% of US sales; marketing activations). https://www.unilever.co.uk/news/press-releases/2026/liquid-iv-bolsters-hydration-category-with-new-sugarfree-range/
  25. Marketing Dive — “How Liquid I.V.’s marketing supports its growth surge under Unilever” (23 Jun 2025; $1B ambition; Times Square, Love Island, “I.V. O’Clock”); Chowhound — “Does Liquid I.V. really help with hangovers?” (company “nights out” quote; no hangover claim). https://www.marketingdive.com/news/how-liquid-ivs-marketing-supports-its-growth-surge-under-unilever/751082/ · https://www.chowhound.com/1897700/how-does-liquid-iv-work-hangovers/
  26. CNN Business — “How America’s obsession with staying hydrated became a $1.5 billion business” (24 May 2025; powdered hydration $1.5B, +20%; hangover use case). https://www.cnn.com/2025/05/24/food/hydration-electrolytes-drinks-popularity
  27. Modern Retail — “Hangover-prevention supplements are the hottest new wellness trend” (3 Sept 2026; Undo, Liqure, Day-guard; ZBiotics on-menu at $12). https://www.modernretail.co/operations/hangover-prevention-supplements-are-the-hottest-new-wellness-trend/
  28. ZBiotics — homepage (positioning lines; Total Wine, BevMo, Foxtrot, Earthbar). https://zbiotics.com/
  29. The Shop at Equinox — ZBiotics collection. https://shop.equinox.com/collections/zbiotics
  30. Thingtesting — ZBiotics reviews (4.8★/171; complaint themes). https://thingtesting.com/brands/zbiotics/reviews
  31. SimplyCodes — ZBiotics promo codes (creator/podcast code activity). https://simplycodes.com/store/zbiotics.com
  32. Fitt Insider — “January AI Announces Sale of Eden’s Gut Health Assets to ZBiotics” (18 Sept 2025). https://insider.fitt.co/press-release/january-ai-announces-sale-of-edens-gut-health-assets-to-zbiotics/
  33. Pommie Travels — ZBiotics review (independent tester; taste; efficacy; price tiers). https://www.pommietravels.com/zbiotics-review/
  34. Lil’ Drug Store Products — Cheers convenience/travel distribution announcement (20 Nov 2023; 3,000+ doors; “25 million doses to half a million people”). https://www.lildrugstore.com/news/cheers-1-alcohol-related-health-wellness-brand-now-available-convenience-travel-and-hospitality
  35. Sam’s Club — Cheers Restore 45-ct reviews (4.3★/750; excerpts). https://www.samsclub.com/reviews/product/17905124177
  36. Thingtesting — Cheers reviews (3.9★/12; excerpts). https://thingtesting.com/brands/cheers/reviews
  37. Entrepreneur — “This After-Alcohol Aid Has Already Generated $25M in Revenue” (24 Sept 2021; StartEngine; INVEST20). https://www.entrepreneur.com/leadership/this-after-alcohol-aid-has-already-generated-25m-in/385986
  38. SupplySide Supplement Journal — “FDA targets ‘hangover’ supplements in warning letters” (30 Jul 2020; seven companies; disease-claim reasoning). https://www.supplysidesj.com/supplement-regulations/fda-targets-hangover-supplements-in-warning-letters
  39. Groupon — Flyby listing (channel evidence). https://www.groupon.com/deals/gg-mp-flyby-hangover-cure-prevention-pills-30-capsules-dihydromyricetin-dhm
  40. LeafSnap — Flyby review (4.3–4.6★ range; complaint themes; positioning). https://leafsnap.com/flyby-review/
  41. TikTok Shop — More Labs Morning Recovery listing; Target — More Labs search results. https://www.tiktok.com/shop/product/more-labs-morning-recovery-drink · https://www.target.com/s/more+labs+morning+recovery
  42. Walmart — More Labs Morning Recovery 6-pack reviews page (no reviews at capture). https://www.walmart.com/reviews/product/5125652427
  43. Thingtesting — More Labs reviews (4.6★/5; excerpts). https://thingtesting.com/brands/more-labs/reviews
  44. The Athletic Build — Morning Recovery review (2019 Amazon datapoint 3.9★/363; travel/taste/proprietary-blend cons). https://theathleticbuild.com/morning-recovery-drink-review/
  45. DHM Guide — “No Days Wasted DHM Detox Review Analysis” (Amazon 4.3★/201+; DHM 1,000 mg + L-Cysteine 200 mg; complaints). https://www.dhmguide.com/never-hungover/no-days-wasted-dhm-review-analysis
  46. Forbes — “Booming Demand for Hangover Prevention and Hydration Products Pushes Canadian Startup No Days Wasted into Retail” (16 Feb 2021); Thrive Market listing. https://www.forbes.com/sites/douglasyu/2021/02/16/… · https://thrivemarket.com/p/no-days-wasted-dhm-detox
  47. No Days Wasted — TikTok (@nodayswasted) and Instagram (@nodayswastedco) accounts (existence/content; metrics not readable). https://www.tiktok.com/@nodayswasted · https://www.instagram.com/nodayswastedco/
  48. Costco — Liquid I.V. 30-stick Variety Pack listing (club-channel evidence). https://www.costco.com/p/-/liquid-iv-hydration-multiplier-30-individual-serving-stick-packs…
  49. Food Dive — “How Unilever’s Liquid I.V. is quenching a rise in thirst for hydration drinks” (Aug 2023; distribution; Sugar-Free launch). https://www.fooddive.com/news/how-liquid-iv-unliever-gatorade-hydration-drinks/691128/
  50. Thingtesting — Liquid I.V. reviews (4.1★/2,550; complaint themes). https://thingtesting.com/brands/liquid-iv/reviews
  51. The Daily Beast — “These Top-Rated Anti-Hangover Supplements Actually Work” (format landscape: patches, chewables, RTD; list prices). https://www.thedailybeast.com/best-hangover-pills/

Want this for your market?

Pro reports like this one are $599, delivered in 72 hours, with a 100% money-back guarantee.

Order a report →